Crypto Novice, Offline storage?

Hi, im completely new to cryptos, wanting to buy something low key with promise, cant afford bitcoin, have looked at Maidsafe coin, but to purchase I have to buy through Bitcoin first, I dont like this idea, so has put me off. I mean if I did buy this way and then want to sell in the future and Bitcoin had plummeted does this mean I can potentially lose heaps on my Maidsafe coins. And what is offline storage?

I’d like to make a few points:

• you can buy fractions of Bitcoins, so if you are saying that you can’t afford to buy a whole Bitcoin, that shouldn’t really be a worry. The limiting factor in affording bitcoins is the transaction fees actually, which are currently around $1-2. So buying $10 worth for example will be impacted heavily by these fees.
  • any crypto investment is volatile and risky, so you could lose money on MAIDsafe coins, just as you could on any other investment
  • while the MAIDsafe coins, being Omni tokens, live on top of the Bitcoin blockchain, analysis has shown them to be relatively uncorrelated with Bitcoin and other cryptos (MaidSafeCoin (MAID) - Price & Trading topic (Part 1) - #1803 by upstate)

Offline storage means storing your private keys in such a way that they aren’t accessible from the internet. By doing that, they aren’t susceptible to theft due to hacking. Examples of offline storage include air gapped computers, paper wallets, and hardware wallets.

4 Likes

You would be technically right, but you are forgetting one detail: What does price represent?
The price represents the trust on a project.
If bitcoins prices were driven all the way to zero, means that people’s confidence on Bitcoin is being eroded.