Can I use bitcoin wallet to save MaidSafeCoin?

Hello! I’m a beginner and just bought some MaidSafeCoin. This is what I did:

• Bought some BTC from coinbase
  • Transferred BTC to Poloniex
  • Created BTC address from bitaddress.org
  • Bought MAID in Poloniex and then transferred it to the address created in step 3 above.

I also created an account in blockchain.info and imported my BTC address there (watch only mode). I can see that Polonix transferred my MAID coins to that address. However it’s showing it in BTC (I bought about 1015 coins and the amount in address is 0.0000273). So I am a bit confused here. Why I had to go through these convoluted steps to purchase MaidSafeCoin as I eventually ended up having some bitcoins in my MaidSafeCoin wallet ? When safecoin will be made available, will I be able to exchange these 1015 MAID coins to safecoins or will it depend on the exchange rate of 0.0000273 BTC ?

3 Likes

I’d recommend setting up a ‘watching only’ wallet at Omniwallet™ - The Next Generation Wallet
This can ‘see’ MaidSafeCoin as well as bitcoin, whereas blockchain.info only ‘sees’ bitcoin.

If you ever want to send your MaidSafeCoin to a different address you’ll need a small amount of bitcoin in your current address, so that the bitcoin transaction fee can be paid.

MaidSafeCoin is just a token on the bitcoin blockchain. Bitcoin wallets don’t see MaidSafeCoins because they are not part of the ‘official’ bitcoin protocol. The information which describes MaidSafeCoin is stored on the bitcoin blockchain, but you need to use the omni protocol to see them. This is what the Omniwallet does. Omni used to be called Mastercoin by the way.

15 Likes

Yes, the BTC is not real, it appears because bitcoin wallets don’t recognise your MaidSafeCoin. As @Runswick says, if you watch/inspect using omniwallet.org you will see your MaidSafeCoin and any bitcoin at the address correctly. So, yes, when the network is live you will be able to exchange for 1015 SafeCoin.